Laguna Majors All-Stars make debut

June 28, 2002

Mike Sciacca

The Laguna Beach Little League Majors Division All-Star team begins

its quest for the league's first-ever District 55 title when it takes on

Viejo Saturday in the opening round of the Little League All-Star

Tournament of Champions.

Laguna Beach and Viejo will meet in game No. 4 of the double

elimination tournament at 1 p.m. at Hicks Canyon Park in Irvine.


Northwood Little League is this year's host for the Majors All-Star


"We certainly have our work cut out for us, as Viejo traditionally has

an outstanding All-Star team," said Laguna Beach coach Cary Hyden.

A victory Saturday will put Laguna Beach into winner's bracket play on

Monday, July 1, at 7:45 p.m., against Rancho Santa Margarita, which

received a first round bye.

A loss Saturday would send Laguna Beach into a "second chance" bracket

game Wednesday, July 3, at 5 p.m.

The leagues of District 55 cover the southern section of Orange

County. The leagues under the district's umbrella include: Laguna Beach,

Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita, Aliso Viejo, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel,

Lake Forest, Newport Beach, Saddleback, San Clemente, San Juan

Capistrano, South Irvine, South Mission Viejo, Northwood, Tijeras Creek,

North Mission Viejo, Rancho Mission Viejo, Rancho Niguel, Trabuco Creek

and Trabuco Canyon.

In addition to Rancho Santa Margarita, North Mission Viejo, Lake

Forest and Newport Beach each received first round byes.

All four of those leagues will play their first round games on Monday.

The championship series is scheduled for July 16-18.

Laguna Beach's Majors Division All-Star team is comprised of Dalton

Sype, Austin Hyden, Kevin Buck, Nick Witte, Christian Bosworth, Caine

Fair, Gabe Stansbury, Keegan Valaika, Charles Moothart, Joe Meehan,

Michael Tachovsky, Will Burk and Dillon Pierece.

Saturday's Games

9 a.m. -- Rancho Niguel vs. Newport Beach

10 a.m. -- Tijeras vs. South Irvine

Noon -- Laguna Hills vs. Rancho Mission Viejo

1 p.m. -- Viejo vs. Laguna Beach

3 p.m. -- Aliso Viejo vs. Saddleback

4 p.m. -- South Mission Viejo vs. Laguna Niguel

6 p.m. -- San Juan Capistrano vs. Trabuco Canyon

7 p.m. -- San Clemente vs. Trabuco Canyon

Coastline Pilot Articles Coastline Pilot Articles