Scholarship winners named

June 18, 2010
  • Jan Fritsen, at left, a Laguna Beach High School counselor in the 1980s who started the scholarship program, is honored by Marsha Aronoff, current president of the LBHS Scholarship Foundation during Honors Convocation.
Jan Fritsen, at left, a Laguna Beach High School counselor…

The Laguna Beach Scholarship Foundation awarded $279,000 to 118 graduating seniors at the annual Honors Convocation, held June 11 in the Artist's Theatre on the high school campus.

Another $100,000 is available through scholarship programs that offer renewable awards for three additional years.

Foundation President Marsha Aronoff said the scholarships are possible because of the generosity of the community, which recognizes the potential of the recipients and offers them the opportunities they might not have otherwise had.

"This can only happen when great kids are connected to caring people," LBHS Principal Don Austin said.


"Ace Award" Accepting the Challenge of Excellence: $500

Zachary Riegler

AAUW, Laguna Beach Branch scholarship: $2,000

Maria Goncharova, Alexandra Knill, Jessica Tan

AFS Scholarship: $1,000

Alexis Huntley, Charles Jackson

Allen Bell Memorial Scholarship Fund: $1,000

Rouzbeh Kazemian, Sean Pigden


American Legion Post 222 Citizenship Award: $800

Nicholas Brown, Victoria Ellis, Austin Giangeruso, Hannah Glass

Anna Mary Beck Business Administration Scholarship: $5,000

Eden Radovich

April Crevier and Daphne Crevier Memorial Scholarship: $2,000

Trevor Bass, Zachary Riegler

Arthur B. Harward Memorial Scholarship: $6,900

Aleph Cervo, Alexander Young

Assistance League of Laguna Beach Scholarship: $8,000

Alison Bloom, Aleph Cervo, Chelsea Donenfeld, Alexandra Knill

AYSO, region 86, Laguna Beach Scholarship: $2,250

Matthew Anderson, Jennifer Coury, Charles Jackson

Barbara Diamond Excellence in Journalism Award: $350

Maria Goncharova

Barbara Laird ROP Memorial Scholarship: $500

Natasha Weir

Bill O'Brien, Class of '57, Memorial Scholarship: $500

Robert Chew

Bonnie S. Lang Memorial Scholarship: $800

Christina Crowley, Hannah Deline

Boys & Girls Club of Laguna Beach Scholarship, Main Branch: $500

Tessy Dominguez

Brandon Balsiger-Post Memorial Scholarship: $2,600

Ladan Davia, Jessica Good Man

Camron Blackburn Memorial Scholarship: $4,000

Alexandra Rieckhoff

Charlotte W. Munro Scholarship: $250

Sean Pigden

Christian Abel Memorial Scholarship: $500

Lasslie Martinez

Christian ELM Awards: $500

Ian Krohnfeldt, Kelsey Peterson, Katherine Winn

Citizens Business Bank Scholarship: $1,000

Anna Stewart Bussey

CLARK Family Scholarship: $500

Chloe Cunningham

Community Learning Center Scholarship: $1,000

Alexsandra Degarmo, Alexander Gromet

Courtney Kelley Cohen Memorial Scholarship: $1,500

Natalie Martin

Crimson Law Group Scholarship: $1,000

Coastline Pilot Articles Coastline Pilot Articles