Woloson named Player of the Year

Breakers' boys' volleyball player earns top honor in Division 2

Lance Stewart named Coach of the Year.

June 24, 2010|By Mike Sciacca,

The accolades keep coming for the Laguna Beach High boys' volleyball program.

A month after the Breakers won both a CIF Southern Section and CIF Southern California Regional title, senior opposite Travis Woloson has been named the Player of the Year in Division 2. Laguna Beach's Lance Stewart was named Coach of the Year in the division.

The 2010 All Volleyball All CIF-Southern Section Division II team presented by the LA84 Foundation. The team was selected by the CIF-SS Boys' Volleyball Coaches' Assn. and was released Monday by the Southern Section office in Los Alamitos.


Woloson was one of five Breakers to earn All-CIF status for the season.

Senior outside hitter Scottie Chapel and junior setter Robbie McKnight were named first-team. Senior middle blocker Reed Thompson was a second-team selection and junior libero Troy Donenfeld made third-team.

"I think it's pretty to have a lot of our team recognized by CIF," Woloson said. "It definitely shows that what we accomplished was a complete team effort, and not just a single person. That's how we accomplished our goals this year, as a team."

Laguna won both a CIF Southern Section and State Regional championship last month.

The CIF award ass the second major honor for Woloson this season: he also shared the Orange Coast League Most Valuable Player award with senior teammate Scottie Chapel.

Thompson and McKnight were named first-team all-league and Donenfeld, junior outside hitter Alek Burk and junior middle blocker Colin Ceithaml made second-team.

Both Woloson and Chapel, who play for the Balboa Bay Volleyball Club 18s team, leave for Austin, Texas, Thursday to compete at the Junior Olympics Volleyball Tournament.

In other Southern Section news released Monday, Laguna junior pitcher/shortstop Chris Paul was named to the All-CIF Division 4 second-team. Paul also was a first-team All-Orange Coast League selection.

2010 All CIF-SS Division 2 Volleyball Team

Player of the year: Travis Woloson, Laguna Beach, opposite, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Lance Stewart, Laguna Beach

First Team

Scottie Chapel, Laguna Beach, outside hitter, Sr.

Robbie McKnight, Laguna Beach S Jr.

Keats Stanley, Westlake, outside hitter, Jr.

Travis Magorien, Westlake, setter, Jr.

Geoffrey Powell, Claremont, middle blocker, Sr.

Austin Kingi, Thousand Oaks, outside hitter, Jr.

Nick Ferry, Valencia/Valencia, outside hitter, Sr.

Dean Pollema, Valley Christian/Cerritos, setter, Sr.

Andrew Sato, Agoura, libero, Jr.

Second Team

Coastline Pilot Articles Coastline Pilot Articles