Briefly In Sports

July 28, 2011
  • Laguna Beach native, Whitney Pavlik, and her partner, Jenny Kropp, won the National Volleyball League's Malibu Open.
Laguna Beach native, Whitney Pavlik, and her partner,… (Courtesy Marc Serota )

Pavlik and Kropp win at Malibu Open

Laguna Beach native Whitney Pavlik and partner Jenny Kropp (Hawthorne) won the National Volleyball League's Malibu Open women's title Sunday at Zuma Beach. Pavlik and Kropp were the No. 1 seed in the tournament and went undefeated during the 32-team, two-day event that began Saturday.

Pavlik and Kropp advanced through the winners' bracket and defeated Olaya Pazo (Miami, Fla.)/Kendra Van Zwieten (Coconut Creek, Fla.) in the Women's final, 21-15, 21-16. The pair advanced to the final after scoring a 21-11, 21-18 sweep of Emily Day (Torrance)/Heather Hughes (Fallbrook).

Pavlik, a gradate of Laguna Beach High, was the 2008 Assn. of Volleyball Professionals (AVP) Rookie of the Year. Kropp held that honor the previous year.

Pavlik and Kropp reached the semifinals of the inaugural NVL tournament, the Preakness, played May 20-21 in Baltimore, Md.

The next NVL tour stop, the third of six in its season, is Aug. 26-28 at Virginia Beach, Va. The only other California stop and final tour event is Sept. 23-25 in Long Beach.



Alumni tourney features past greats

The fifth annual Laguna Beach High Alumni Boys' Basketball Tournament is Saturday at both the Dugger and North gymnasiums at Laguna Beach.

Breakers Coach Bret Fleming said that about 100 former players have participated in past tournament fundraisers. This year, 10 teams will be divided into two five-team pools before moving on to a single-elimination tournament. This year's event has players who represented the program nearly 40 years ago. The 2011-12 team will vie for the title and is among several teams out to unseat the 1998-2000 squad that has won the first four tournament championships.

One game also pits the current varsity against dads of varsity players. Games start at 8:30 a.m. and each game will be officiated by referees.

Below are a few of the players representing the 10 teams, by era, scheduled for the the tournament:

2011-12 varsity: Jake Dalke, Cole Kesler, Jack Pillsbury, Paul MacCabe, Derek Reigel, Brandon Lewis, Luke Barker, Noah Blanton, Bryce Blanton, Santi Pierini

2008-2011: Marcus Hairston, Ryan Lawler, Dylan Roley

2005-2007: Jeff Clark, Cheyne Martin, Brian Delino

2004-2007: Jason Boyd, Trevor Lyle, Walt Gabbard

1997-2000: Jesse Obrand, B.J. Jameson, Chris Siriani, Travis Hanour

1994-1996: Rus Soobzokov, Kurt Nelson, Nate Pivaroff

1991-1993: Josh Borella, Taylor Butcher, Trigg Garner

1988-1990: John Trevino, Dain Blanton, Brady Butcher

Coastline Pilot Articles Coastline Pilot Articles